Dual Credit Programs

Dual Credit (aka Dual Enrollment)

High school students have a unique opportunity to take tuition-free classes at one of the many colleges and universities around the state and receive credit both toward high school graduation and toward a postsecondary degree or certificate. Whether classes are used to get a jump on a degree, or to begin training for a career in areas like renewable energy, healthcare, criminal justice, dental hygiene or automotive technology, dual credit programs can give our older youth a jump start on life after high school.

From the New Mexico Public Education Department (NMPED) web site:  

Every New Mexico high school student has the opportunity to enroll in college courses through the Dual Credit (DC) Program. The DC Program provides access to academic and career and technical education (CTE) courses that deliver simultaneous credit toward high school graduation and a postsecondary degree or certificate. College courses are offered for dual credit based upon agreements between high schools and accredited public colleges. Dual credit courses are accessible to students with a range of academic and career aptitudes. Research studies on dual credit participation have shown that dual credit enrollment contributes to improved academic performance. Students who take dual credit courses perform well in their courses, graduate from high school at a higher rate than their peers, require less first-semester remediation in college, and are more likely to obtain a college degree within four years.

The map below shows the public institutions with dual credit opportunities in New Mexico. Scroll down for links to the dual credit information, and degree and certificate programs at the various colleges and universities in the state.

Northern New Mexico (east to west):

New Mexico Highlands (Las Vegas)

Luna College (Las Vegas)

University of New Mexico - Taos campus

Santa Fe Community College

Institute of American Indian Arts (IAIA) (Santa Fe)

Northern New Mexico College (Española)

University of New Mexico - Los Alamos campus

San Juan College (Farmington)

Diné College - Crownpoint Campus

Navajo Technical University (Crownpoint)

Diné College - Shiprock Campus

Central New Mexico (east to west):

Clovis Community College

Eastern New Mexico University (Portales)

Mesalands Community College (Tucumcari)

University of New Mexico (Albuquerque)

Central New Mexico Community College (CNM) (Albuquerque)

Southwestern Indian Polytechnic Institute (SIPI) (Albuquerque)

University of New Mexico - Valencia County campus (Los Lunas)

New Mexico Tech - (Socorro)

New Mexico State University - Grants campus

University of New Mexico - Gallup campus

Southern New Mexico (east to west):

New Mexico Junior College (Hobbs)

New Mexico State University - Carlsbad campus

Eastern New Mexico University - Roswell campus

Eastern New Mexico University - Ruidoso campus

New Mexico State University - Alamogordo campus

New Mexico State University (Las Cruces)

Doña Ana Community College (Las Cruces)

Western New Mexico University (Silver City)


Our Sponsors

About NMOST Network

The New Mexico Out-of-School Time Network (NMOST) brings together policymakers, educators, childcare providers, youth development workers, and other stakeholders interested in ensuring positive youth development opportunities and outcomes through out-of-school time programs.

learn more

Our Newsletter Sign Up

* indicates required

Contact Us

NMOST Network
505 Marquette Ave NW #1610
Albuquerque, NM 87102